In last night’s Austin Aztex game versus the Texas Dutch Lions, the referee was forced to make a very important call early in the match. She quickly pointed to the spot having seen an apparent hand ball at the goal line by a Dutch Lions defender. The referee then beckoned the player over and pulled the red card from her pocket. She never raised the red card, as the players pleaded their case. The center referee then conferred with the assistant and decided that no penalty should have been assessed. What happened next was odd, as she dropped the ball in front of the Dutch Lions goalkeeper as to say that there should have been no whistle blown at all. It appeared as if she was awarding possession, via a drop ball, back to the Dutch Lions.
From the video below, there is clearly a handball on the goal line by the Dutch Lions defender. The only question, in our view, is whether the ball had gone over the end line before Manneh crossed it to Tyrpak. If you look closely, it appears the ball didn’t go over the end line Manneh shows excellent close control to make the cross. Equally as impressive is Tyrpak’s flick on goal.
So what should the correct call here be? You be the judge.